Social Services


Zakat and Fitra

Zakat is the concept of obligatory charity in Islam. It’s how we give back, out of our own wealth, to those less fortunate. This is a favor bestowed upon by the Almighty Allah SWT. The word ‘zakat’ comes from the Arabic word ‘to purify’, Allah SWT says in the Quran: “take from their wealth so that you might purify and sanctify them” (9:103). By recognizing that one’s wealth is a gift from Allah (SWT) and giving away a portion of it to others, a Muslim purifies the rest of his or her wealth from greed and miserliness.

Zakat is a right which the poor have over every Muslim who is eligible to give Zakat.


Zakat applications are processed confidentially. All applicants are screened. Please fill our Zakat Request Form for consideration.


Let the Islamic Center of Greensboro distribute your Zakat. You place your Amanah with us and we will spend it according to the laws of Zakat.

Zakat donations are not used for any ICG Masjid expenses (loan payoff, construction, or operations) and are fully directed towards the needy in our community. You can donate online or via check. Zakat contributions are not included towards your annual membership dues in order to be eligible for voting in or standing for elections.

Who Can Receive Your Zakat?

Zakat cannot be paid to everyone. There are eight specific categories of people to whom zakat can be given: “The alms are only for the Fuqara’ (the poor), and Al-Masakin (the needy) and those employed to collect (the funds); and to attract the hearts of those who have been inclined (towards Islam); and to free the captives; and for those in debt; and for Allah’s Cause, and for the wayfarer (a traveler who is cut off from everything); a duty imposed by Allah. And Allah is All-Knower, All-Wise.” [Al-Quran 9:60]”

  1. Al-Fuqara (The poor)
    Fuqara are the people who live below the poverty line and don’t have enough means to live a normal life like others. They deserve your zakat in order to meet the daily necessities of their lives.
  2. Al-Masakin (The needy)
    Masakin are extremely poor and needy people. These people don’t have any possessions or income. Your zakat money can help them in improving their living condition.
  3. Zakat collectors
    Zakat can be given to the people who are authorized to collect and distribute it among the needy and poor. It includes the trustworthy institutions and NGOS who are working to help underprivileged Muslim communities.
  4. Who converted to Islam
    Those who are newly converted to Islam are eligible to receive zakat (if they are needy). If someone has converted and is detached from their family and friends, you can give your zakat to them so that they can start their new journey.
  5. Freeing captives
    Slavery is prohibited in many parts of the world but still people are trafficked and kept as slaves. Zakat money can help slaves in freeing themselves and improve their living standard.
  6. Debtors
    Zakat can be given to pay off debts of someone who cannot repay on his own. However, one must make sure that the money borrowed by debtor is not used for any un-Islamic or wrong purpose.
  7. In the path of Allah
    Those who are striving in the path of Allah are entitled to receive your zakat. These are the people who are fighting for Allah’s cause far away from their homes. Your zakat can help them have a better living.
  8. Wayfarer (Travelers)
    For a traveler who is alone in a foreign land and is in need of money to fulfill his objective of traveling. Refugees can be given zakat money as they leave their countries because of violence and oppression in search of a safe and better place.

Click here for Zakat Request Form